DURCHBRUCH Q&A

I'm confused by the addition of the Mt Rombon objective, if using the Borevich Plan, since the
Germans already possess it. Is it simply a 5 VP bonus to the Germans if they continue to garrison
it?

Hex 1118 must must be held at any cost. It gives 5 VPs. If Italians guess the Boroevic Plan they could
try to attack it.

What happens to corp communications stations after the Prep Bombardment phase? Do they
remain in place indefinitely to suffer possible capture? Are they removed as no longer relevant?

After the Prep Bombardmente Phase they are removed (yes as no longer relevant but also because they
changed position after the austro-german barrage).

Are all objectives revealed after the Prep Bombardment phase is over?

VPs’ objectives are revealed when the Plan is revealed and VPs are checked. Preparatory
bombardment objectives (dummies and stations) can be eliminated from map ... they are no longer
relevant.

Just to be clear, during the Prep Bombardment phase, German artillery ranges are ignored when
targeting objectives. Otherwise, a prudent IT player would never place communication stations
within range.

6.5/2 The Communications station must be placed inside a range of 9 hexes from their Corps HQ or
their Corps artillery (Italian Player’s choice). Since German artillery ranges are ignored it isn’t relevant
what can do a cautious Italian player. He could set up the Stations up to 9 hex behind the lines but since
those stations can be hit only during the Prep Phase (where you should imagine very heavy artilleries
off map are employed, not those represented by counters) this is useless.

6.4.1 Up to 20 AH units can move and attack. Would Engineer and MG companies, since they are
much smaller, still be considered a unit and thus not able to move unless counted as one of the 20
units?

2.5 SPECIAL UNITS are... units, so if included in the 20 units they can move and attack. Otherwise
they don’t.



7.2 First Turn exceptions states that ALL IT units have their MP halved.

7.2 FIRST TURN SPECIAL EXCEPTIONS 2 - all Italian units cannot use Strategic Movement (12.4)
and have their MP halved (may always move one hex). In the unlucky event a Comm Station is hit they
are quartered ... half MP plus another half MP.

8.2 Replacements 2nd Ed: You radically changed the replacement rules

Yes we did. Replacements rules and Reserve were mistakes. Replacements may be collected reaching
an HQ adjacent hex by moving. It was almost impossible to receive replacements for the Italian’s
formations at the moment.

14.2 Advances: Must the first hex of an advance be into the hex vacated by the defending unit or
can it be in any direction? This can be critical for an Assault battalion since it can often be
attacking from the rear of the defender.

14.2.1 Victorious attacking units : When a unit or a stack of units retreats or is eliminated it leaves its
hex empty. ALL of the victorious attacking units that participated in combat may advance, and if they
choose to, they must enter the vacated hex as the first hex of the advance movement.

I think that there should be a mechanism for them to surrender. Perhaps a morale check during
the LOC check. Or perhaps at game's end, OOC2 units can be considered eliminated (having
surrendered by that time).

The Rules do not provide this. OOCs can always defend as historically happened. The mass of
surrendering soldiers was made by men from various military Services and second and third rate units,
with some encircled division. “Eliminate” does not necessarily mean killing, but also taking prisoners,
the great number of MIA, and so on, so an unit is no longer able for the active service.

What you suggest is an interesting Home rule ... you can try it; but it isn’t the designer’s idea.

Assault Regiment (Arditi). My counter sheet (checked twice) does not have this unit. Is this a set-
up error or is there a missing counter?

Is a counter eliminated in the final review because the Assault regiment was in training at the time.

The 72° Puglie's counter shows that it is a reinforcement - R2 -but the set up sheet shows that it
appears on 10/27 (Day 3) at a different hex than the rules state that Italian reinforcement appear.

Initially it was intended as a reinforcement but they deployed instead in Initial Set Up. So is a mistake
either the number R2 on counter AND the 27/10 date on Set Up sheet ... 72° is in map from the
beginning of the game in the hex



71° Puglie's counter shows that it also is an R2 unit but the set-up sheet shows that it starts on the
map at 4810. Which is correct?

It is not a reinforcement it starts in map at Kambresko. Forget what is written on the counter.

The counters for 207°,208°,125°,126° don't indicate that they are reinforcements but the set-up
sheet states they are.

Same as for 72° Puglie. They are in map from the Start, they aren’t reinforcement.

The set-up sheet shows the 75°/19 and 76°/19 be set up at 4009 and 3910 respectively. Again, there
are no counters for these units on my counter sheets.

They were units of the 19™ division attached to the 65" (purple). So, on the setup sheet the 19" yellow
is a mistake (it should be 65™)

The Reinforcement indicator on the counters appears not to match the rules, the set-up sheet, nor
is the nomenclature explained

Apart those of XXVIII Corps (that arrives 27" /10) there are no other troops which are 27" /10
Reinforcements.

Cancel the 27" /10 on the sheet for: 71° Puglie, 207° Taro, 208 °Taro, 125° Spezia ,126° Spezia, X°
G.Alpini ,and put them in hex written on the sheet.

Do not count what is on the counter in 72° Puglie.



