Fleet Commander Nimitz - Yamamoto

This expansion organizes the Japanese Ship counters into
fleets of more effective fighting forces.

All Japanese Ship counters in play will always be part of a
Fleet card.
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Fleet Cards - Each Fleet
card has a title, year, and
designates a starting Area
of the map. Place the
noted Ship counters on
the Fleet card. The Ships
in a Fleet always move
together during the
Japanese Orders step.

East Asia

\ DD DestRvER G 3 1

1942 Carrier Fleet #1

Example: Japanese Carrier
Fleet #1 starts in the East Asia Area of the map and has the Ships:
CVL Ryujo, CRU Maya | Atago, and DD Destroyer Gp 3.
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Fleet Counters - Place the
corresponding Fleet counters in the
noted Areas of the map. Instead of
moving individual Ship counters, you
now move Fleet counters.

‘.EARRIER FLEET #‘1.

The rules for moving Japanese Infantry and Land-Based
Aircraft counters remain the same.

Example: For the 1942 Campaign, place Surface Fleet #1 Fleet
counter in the Caroline Islands, Surface Fleet #2 in the Philippines,
Surface Fleet #3 in East Asia, etc. for all 9 of the 1942 Fleet counters.

Transports

At the start of a Campaign, place Japanese Infantry counters
on each Transport from the Fleet’s starting Area. The Area
must be left with at least 1 Infantry or Land-Based Aircraft. If
placing Infantry on the Transport would leave the Area without
Infantry and Land-Based Aircraft, take Infantry counters from
Japan. If there are no Infantry counters in Japan, place
Battalions on the Transports from the Japanese Battalion area
of the map.

Example: In 1942, Surface Fleet #1 has 3 Transports and begins in
the Caroline Islands. The Caroline Islands has 1 Battalion, no Infantry,
and no Land-Based Aircraft. You cannot take the Battalion, and there
are no Infantry counters in Japan, so you take 3 Battalions from the
Battalion area on the map.

Scouting

During the Scouting phase, each Scouting counter lets you
choose to Scout for a Fleet, or for the Infantry/Aircraft
counters in the Area.

Orders

Unlike the individual Forces in the Nimitz core game, Fleets
do not automatically perform a Hold Order when in an
Objective area. Roll, and perform their Order as normal.

When a Fleet Moves from one area to a different area, check
that all of its Transports have Infantry. If any Transport does
not have Infantry, take Infantry counters from Japan. If Japan
does not have enough Infantry, fill the empty Transports with
Battalions. Do not perform this procedure if the Fleet received

an Order, and did not move to a different area.

Battle

When a Fleet enters a Battle, move the Ship counters from the
Fleet card to the Battle map, resolve the Battle as normal, and
then move the surviving Ship counters back to the Fleet card.
If a Ship is Damaged in the Battle, return it Undamaged to the
Fleet card, and reduce the Japanese Resupply counter by 1
position.

The only time Infantry counters leave a Fleet card is if the
Fleet moves into an area with a Battle. At that time, use the
standard Infantry and Transport rules. If a Fleet doesn’t move,
or moves into an area that does not have US Forces, its
Infantry remain on their Transports.

Reinforcements

When you draw a Reinforcement Ship counter for Japan,
place the counter on any random Fleet card that has an
unused Ship counter position of the same Ship type. Fleet
cards will have Ship counter positions become available as
you Destroy their Ships.

Example: In the 1942 Campaign, you draw a Reinforcement Ship
counter “CV Junyo”. Carrier Fleet #1 has an available Ship position
for a “CV” because you previously Destroyed the CV Akagi. Place the
CV Junyo counter in the CV Akagi’s position on the Fleet card.

If none of the Fleet cards have an available position for the
same Ship type as the Reinforcement Ship, add the Ship
counter to the Fleet card with the fewest number of Ships that
has that Ship type.

Example: In the 1942 Campaign, you draw a Reinforcement Ship
counter “CV Junyo”. None of the Fleet cards have an available
position for a CV because none have been Destroyed. Carrier Fleet
#4 has taken losses and has only 2 Ships remaining, both CVs. Even
though it does not have a CV position available, the card does have a
CV position, and of the Fleet cards that have CV positions, it has the
fewest Ship counters. You add Junyo to Carrier Fleet #4.

Fleet Destruction

When you Destroy the last Ship (do not count Transports) on
a Fleet card, remove its counter from the map, Destroy any
Infantry counters remaining on its Transports, and move any
Battalion counters to the Battalion area. Place future
Reinforcement Ship draws on the Fleet card using the
Reinforcement rules above. When the Fleet card gains a
Reinforcement Ship, place its Fleet counter in Japan, and
treat it once again as a normal Fleet.

War Expansion

If you are using this expansion and the War Expansion at the
same time, setup the 1942 Campaign and resolve 1942 as
normal. Continue to use the 1942 Fleet cards into 1943 and
beyond. As the Reinforcement Ships for 1943 and after enter
play due to Reinforcement draws, place them on the 1942
Fleet cards as normal.



