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Fleet Commander Nimitz - Island Battle Sheets

To use these components with your Fleet Commander Nimitz
game, select the Island Battle Sheet with the name of the area
where the battle is taking place. Place the named Battle Sheet
on top of the game’s normal 11” x 17” Battle Sheet so it
overlays the same area.

Example: If the battle is taking place in the Solomon Islands,
use the Solomon Islands’ Battle Sheet, and place it as shown.

These individualized Battle
Sheets give the Japanese
forces additional abilities,
and will make your games
more challenging.

SOLOMON ISLANDS

Some Battle Sheets show
water separating the land
areas of the Battle Sheet.
This is for artistic purposes
only, forces move and
attack as normal.

The term “Island” is a
generic term that applies
to whole and partial island
land masses.

US Ocean
ROLL: 7-10

If a notation calls for the
placement of Forces that
are not available, ignore

the notation.

Explanation of Battle Sheet Notations
In all cases, ignore the instruction if you cannot perform it.

“Add x Japanese...” - At the start of the battle, place the
indicated forces in the noted area of the Battle Sheet. These
instructions will also dictate where to gather the forces from.
Gather the forces randomly from that source.

“Fortification counters” - Use the counters provided in the
“War Expansion’ or any spare counters.

If the Japanese Hold the Island, the Japanese begin each
Campaign Turn with the noted number of Fortification
counters on the Island, even if some were discarded in a
previous Campaign Turn.

Island Fortification counters are in addition to any Fortification
counters placed due to the “War Expansion”.

Discard 1 Fortification counter each time a Japanese Infantry
is about to suffer a Hit, instead of inflicting the Hit on the
Infantry.

“Freely add...” - At the start of the battle, add the noted US
forces to the indicated area of the Battle Sheet. These forces
do not cost you Supplies, and they remain in play if they
survive the battle.

“If the Japanese begin with forces Ashore...” - If the
Japanese begin the battle with Infantry or Land-Based Aircraft
Ashore, perform the indicated instructions.

If the Island Battle Sheet adjusts the Japanese Resupply
Orders counter, move their Orders counter along their Orders
track the indicated number of spaces at the start of the Battle.
This is cumulative for each Island that had this effect.

Example: During the Campaign Turn, you have a battle in
Alaska (advance by 3), New Caledonia (advance by 1), and
Samoa (advance by 2). Advance the Japanese Resupply
Orders’ counter 6 spaces.

“If the US has never Held the Island this game” - This
general condition will have one or more sub-rules. These sub-
rules only apply if the US have never Held the Island during
the game.

“Inflict a Hit on US Infantry...” - Each time you are about to
inflict a Hit on Japanese Infantry during the battle, you must
also inflict a Hit on US Infantry, if any are present in the battle.
You apply the Hit to the US Infantry even if the Hit is absorbed
by a Fortification counter.

“Invader may not have Airfields...” - The Invader is the
Nation that does not Hold the Island. The Invading nation may
not have Airfields (and Land-Based Aircraft) on the Island until
they Hold the Island.

Such Islands are indicated by only having one “Airfield” area
on their Battle Sheet.

If a Campaign set-up sheet has the US starting with Land-
Based Aircraft on a Island with this limitation, and the US does
not Hold the Island, place those Land-Based Aircraft in any
areas with the available Airfield space to hold them.

‘Japan Battle Plans” - Draw the indicated number of extra
Battle Plans for the Japanese. The instructions will usually say
to do so on the first turn, or for every turn of the battle.

“Place new arriving...” - At the start of the battle, place the
indicated nation’s forces in the noted area on the Battle
Sheet.

“The US may not...” - Your actions during the battle are
limited as noted.

“The US may not move more than...” - You are limited in the
number of the noted Ship, Land-Based Aircraft, or Infantry
forces you can move each Battle Turn from one noted area on
the Battle Sheet to the other noted area.



