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Official Conflict of Heroes FAQ 
 

Awakening the Bear 3rd Ed 

Mission 10 - Bug River: 

Q: Mission Instructions indicate that Soviet commanders immediately fire previously planned off board 

artillery whenever an Event Objective card is drawn.  Is this action taken by the Soviets even when a 

German commander draws the event objective?  Does the OBA attack happen immediately? 

A: Yes, OBA is fired by both Soviet Commanders when the Event Objective card is drawn, even if drawn 

by the German player(s).  Whoever drew the event card then draws a new Action Card. 

Cards 

Q: Does ‘Follow Me’ card #03 have to be played on the unit that is paying the AP cost for the card? 

A: Yes.  For ‘Follow Me’, the unit that is being rallied has to be the unit that is playing the card.  The unit 

has to make a spent check unless the cost is reduced to 0 through the use of CAPs.  The card can only be 

played on a spent unit if the AP cost is reduced to 0 through the use of CAPs. 

Counter Issues: 

Q:  Where is the Artillery Marker in Awakening the Bear 3rd Edition? 

A:  It was missed on the counter sheet; it is available here on Dropbox for download: 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dkovwm3dxjk2wh8/AtB3%20Artillery%20Marker%20Image.pdf?dl=0.  

Storms of Steel 3rd Edition has two of these artillery markers and one can be pull from there. 

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dkovwm3dxjk2wh8/AtB3%20Artillery%20Marker%20Image.pdf?dl=0
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Awakening the Bear Firefight Generator 

Generating a Solo Mission 

Q:  What happens if one of the AI’s generator cards gives them +1 Action Card/Round as a ‘Special 

Rule/Event’ option? 

A: Since the AI does not have a hand of cards, if the AI are given +1 Action Card/Round you add an 

additional Command Order card into the AI deck per the rules for adding extra cards for additional CAPs 

found in section G 5.4 of the Firefight Generator rules.  The card is used to determine which AI Solo Tiles 

to draw for that Mission as normal.   

Eastern Front Solo Expansion 

Solo Mission 3 – Hunting Chernov 

Q: #6 on the Mission Track instructs you to place a ‘Hasty Defense’ on the lowest DV AI closest to a Unit, 

but there are only tanks in this mission.  Can you place a ‘Hasty Defense’ on a tank? 

A: Yes, specifically for this mission.  Normally a ‘Hasty Defense’ can be placed only on a foot unit.  

However, as a mission event, a ‘Hasty Defense’ can be placed on an AI tank.  This represents the AI unit 

possibly finding some debris or brush to tie on to the tank, temporarily improving its defense value. 

 


