
Kesselring's War (WW 94) Errata 26 Feb 2024 

 

Counter Errata (superfluity) 

Do not use the German 18th Panzer Division. Ignore the reinforcement code on the counter. (Historically, it was 

destroyed on the Eastern Front in late 1943.) 

 

Optional Rule 36.1 Victory in the South. In addition to the other listed units, Germans receive the 18th Panzer 

Division as a reinforcement on GT 6. Deploy it on its reduced side. The unit can be regrouped per rule (8.2). 

                                                                                                                                       

2.3.1 Ground Units (omission) 

Unit with a plus sign (+) between their combat and movement factors are Elites per (24.1). 

 

2.5 Sides and Contingents (clarification) 

Canadian, Indian, New Zealand and South African units are all part of the British Commonwealth contingent 

even though they are printed in different background colors. See also rule (30.3) for optional Italian unit’s 

contingent assignment.  

  

2.5 Nationalities and Unit Colors (additional) 

Axis 

German ground forces: white on gray 

German Luftwaffe: blue-gray with aircraft icon 

Italian Fascists ground forces: white on black 

Italian Fascists air forces: light gray with aircraft icon 

Italian RSI (optional): black on gray 

SSU: light gray 

Garrisons: gray-green 

 

Allied 

British Commonwealth contingent 

British: khaki 

Poles: khaki with red and white unit box 

Canadian: red 

Indian: dark blue 

New Zealand: dark blue 

South African: dark green 

British air and naval forces: light khaki 

Italian ECI (optional): green 

  

United States contingent 

US ground forces: green 

US air and naval forces: olive green 

Free French: light blue 

 

Allied SSU: light green (US), light khaki (British Commonwealth) 

Allied garrisons: light brown 

 

4.1 Sequence of Play (clarification) 

Players continue to alternate actions phases until the conditions of (6.1) Action Segment are met. 

 

7.1.1 Axis Special Reinforcements (clarification) 

The rule refers to the Axis Action Segment immediately following the Allied invasion.  

(Example: if the Allies launch the invasion on their second Action Points Segment of January 1944, the Germans 

bring in the "R" reinforcements on their ensuing Action Point Segment of that turn.) 



  

15.7 (clarification): 

15.7 is correct. Mechanized units shift one column right for attacks into open terrain or towns. The TEC should 

read IR. (The reason is that towns represent communications centers which would be open to mechanized 

operations.) 

 

17.1. Retreat Parameters (clarification) 

If a stack is retreating into an enemy ZOC, reduce one unit per stack (not each unit in the stack). 

 

18.2 Amphibious Operations (clarification) 

Point 5 applies only to the segment of the invasion. Thereafter, supply, including defense, has to be established 

normally.  

 

18.3 Invasion Procedure (clarification) 

Allies expend two AP. One or two Amphibs (with transported ground units) can be placed per the rule per 

Action. If two Amphibs, they must be placed on adjacent coastal hexes with no intervening all-water hexside. 

See (10.1) for invasion stacking and (22.1) for naval gunfire. A max of two Amphibs can be used per invasion, 

and each for a landing in a separate coastal hex. 

Example: Pay two AP and land one Amphib at Gela (hex 1425) and a second Amphib at the hex to its east 

(1426). 

 

18.4.1 Combat Shifts for Invasions (clarification) 

The 2L shift for combat applies only to the initial invasion and only to Opposed landings per 18.4(2). The shift is 

not applied to subsequent attacks and defenses.  

  

23.3 Unique SSU, Leaders (correction): 

Drop "1) Leaders are not subject to recycling (23.4)." 

Leaders are now subject to Recycling. 

 

30.1(2) Operation Achse Procedure 

Change “the Germans commit the FJV commando unit...” to 

“the Germans commit the Lehr or FJV commando SSU (if available, and no more than one)...” 

 

Note: Per rule (36.1) the FJV SSU comes in only if players are using the Victory in the South option. 

Historically, the Germans used the Luftwaffe Lehr airborne battalion to execute the Mussolini rescue mission. 

Skorzeny hitched a ride with the gliders and then flew out with Mussolini to get a photo op! 

 

22.4 SSU Recycling (original rule) 

SF units are not affected by combat results. However, whenever an SSU unit is committed to a battle, no matter 

the outcome: roll one die. Place the SSU unit on the friendly Turn Track that number of turns later. On that turn 

the SSU can be taken as a Reinforcement in the same manner as ground combat units (per 7.0). If that turn is 

after the end of the scenario, the units are removed from play (place in the Withdrawn display).  

Note: playtesting showed that when using this rule, SSU were not enough in play so the effects of Recycling 

were changed per the published rule. But players can use this rule as an alternative.  

  


