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A.FAQ

2.1 THE PLAYING PIECES

* “Infantry type units” are; Infantry, Motorized Infantry, Machine
Gun, Engineer and Armored Infantry.
---Anti Tank, 88mm, Recon and HQ are not “Infantry type
units”.

5.0 STACKING

¢ Is stacking limit applied even during the initial phase?
---NO, only after movement, an advance after combat and dur-
ing a mobile assault.

* What happens if withdrawal of a headquarter causes overstack-
ing?
---Treat it as a temporary overstacking caused by a retreat
(5.5)

* In which situation can retreating units finish their retreat over-
stacked?

(1). Any time.

(2). To avoid retreating into (any) enemy ZOC.

(3). When the retreat into other hexes will cause any additional
step losses because of interlocking active ZOC.

(4). When that is the only hex to be retreated and otherwise that
retreating stack is totally eliminated.

---Case 3.

e Do all three Italian Gruppo Maletti units count for divisional
stacking of 37
----Yes, the same as the Trento Division.

6.0 ORGANIZATION CARD

* A non-motorized unit can enter a motorized formation display
only when it is combat motorized. Is this correct?
----Yes

7.0 ZONE OF CONTROL
¢ Do ZOCs exist in desert hexes? ----Yes

¢ Can a unit retreat into/through desert hexes? ----Yes

» Astack retreating through an overlapping active enemy ZOC in
a desert hex has to lose extra steps. Is this correct? ----Yes

¢ Can a unit move from enemy ZOC to enemy ZOC during reac-
tion movement?
--Yes, but it would need three MP’s to do this.

7.3 Active ZOC

* Do ALL combat units in an enemy Active ZOC have to attack?
Or, as far as the unit which is exerting Active ZOC is attacked,
can some phasing units be left aside without participating in
any attack?
----Yes, some may not participate.

10.0 Combat Modifiers
* Can Armor superiority be used in an attack against Jebel / Se-
bahka hexes. ----Yes

* Non-tank units in improved positions have their Armor Effect
Rating increased by one (see 18.2). Is this benefit also true for
units which have *no* armor effect rating at all (e.g. most of the
infantry divisions/brigades) or must an unit have a minimum
rating of one?

---Units with 0 AT rating in an improved position have their AT
rating increased to 1.

11.0 RETREATS

» Retreat priority; Is a hex in an enemy ZOC but also occupied by
a friendly force treated still as an enemy ZOC (but which does
not cause any extra damages to the retreating force) in judging
retreat priority or it is not regarded as a ZOC for this purpose?
----It is not counted as a ZOC

* When there are two “possible” paths for the retreating stack,
one is completely free of eZOC and the other is adjacent to an
enemy stack but contains friendly units, then does the retreat-
ing force have to chose the former ‘free’ hex or can retreat into
either hexes?

----It could retreat either way.

14.0 MOBILE ASSAULTS

* Can an attacker succeeded in a Mobile Assault enter the hex
occupied by the defender even when it is an “Active ZOC to
Active ZOC movement” of other enemy units? ----YES

e If it is possible, can that unit continue its movement or conduct
another MA? ----YES

* Can a Mobile assault be conducted against units in Jebel / Se-
bakha hexes?
----Yes. But, Motorized units, which conducted Mobile Assault
against units in Jebel or Sebakha, have to finish their movement
at the end of that MA.

» Can a Mobile Assault be conducted across Escarpment hexsides
via road?
----NO. Mobile Assaults are not allowed across Escarpments
even through a road hexside (because in eZOC to eZOC condi-
tion, the presence of the road is ignored).

16.0 SPECIAL UNIT TYPES

¢ Reconnaissance Units: Recon units do not have any AT capac-
ity (they are rebuilt by tank replacement); Is this correct?
---Yes, they represent specialized vehicles, which are represent-
ed by the tank replacement point.

16.2 Artillery Units

¢ When attacked in a Fortified hex, the defensive factor of an ar-
tillery unit in that hex is modified (x2 or x3). But when support-
ing adjacent fortified hexes, artillery units can add only their
printed strength. Is this correct?
----Artillery should never be doubled or tripled in a fortification
or improved position. This is an error in the original rules.



e Can artillery units defending alone defend with their printed
strength? ---Yes

* May a defender use artillery or air units in a Mobile Assault?
----Air NO, Atrtillery: YES

* When motorized units stacked with non-motorized ones are act-
ing independently, and a selective attack is conducted against
those motorized units, can artillery units deployed to non-mo-
bile side in that hex support them? ----YES

e Can an artillery / HQ unit advance after combat along with oth-
er units? ----Yes

e Can even a deployed artillery with zero-MP advance, flipped to
its movement side? ----No, it cannot advance.

16.3 Army HQ
* Can even a zero-attack factor Army HQ advance, tagging along
with other combat units? ----Yes

* And nothing was written about Supply Points stacked with
the attacking units. Can they advance after combat with truck
points accompanying other advancing units? ----Yes

18.0 FIELD WORKS

¢ When units in a hex with a fortification are forced to retreat (at-
tacker with repulse or defender with advance/overrun result), is
that fort destroyed;

(1) immediately,

(2) when the opposite side advanced after combat into that hex
or

(3) left behind.

----(2) When the opposite side advanced into the hex.

19.0 GENERAL SUPPLY

¢ 19.6 Attrition: When rolling for the attrition of a stack, should I
roll for the replacement units in that hex, too? ----Yes

20.0 SUPPLY UNITS

e 20.3 Attack Supply: Supply Points are not consumed if the
total of combat loss actually taken/absorbed by the both players
is one or zero. The results on the CRT must be more than Al,
D1 or A0/DO.

29.0 RECOVERED STEPS

e Can we have more than 9+2/3 (Axis) or 9+3/4 (Allies) Dam-
aged Tanks or Wounded Personnel, which can be recorded on
the track? ----Yes, there is no limit.

31.0 TURN RECORD TRACK

¢ 31.7 Unit Conversion: When “converting” two or more units
to two (or more) other units, can I place converted units in any
hex where the original ones existed? ----Yes

ADVANCED RULES

40.0 THE AIR GAMES

The sequence of Air Game Sub phase (Suppl.)

The Air Game Sub phase is conducted in the following se-
quence;

1. The attacker declares “all” ground combats (just indicating tar-
get hexes is enough?) at the beginning of the combat phase.

2. Both players place air units according to 40.4 and resolve all
Air to Air combat in the order of attacker’s choice before re-
solving any ground combat.

3. After the completion of all Air to Air combats, start resolving
the ground combat in the order of attacker’s choice.

SPECIAL RULES

e 43.0 Littorio Div. When enemy units move within six hexes of
Litter Div, they can stay in that hex. But when they move, they
have to move into more distant hexes from the enemy units
(they can not move into hexes in the SAME distance). Is this
correct?
----The Axis player must attempt to move the Littorio Division
to a hex more than 6 hexes away from all enemy units. If the
only way to do that is to move temporary closer to an enemy
unit, that is OK.

44.0 The Italian Sth Army

* When the Allied player doesn’t take Bardia or Tobruk, Italian
5th Army is not released even until the end of the campaign
game. Is this correct?
---Correct. Perhaps not reality based, but if the Allies haven’t
taken Bardia and Tobruk, they don’t need to face the Sth Army.

48.0 VICISSITUDES OF WAR

* 48.1 The fall of Tobruk: This is applicable after the August
I 1941. Does this mean that this is applied from the August II
1941 turn? ----YES

* German 200th and 361st regiments are not converted to motor-
ized version when the Axis takes Tobruk before the August II
1941 turn. Is this correct? ----CORRECT

e Are they converted even before the entry of 90th Division
Headquarter? ----YES

* What happens if the Axis takes Tobruk but loses it before the
entry of these units?
----THE CONVERSION STILL TAKES PLACE

* What happens if the Axis does not lose Tobruk from the begin-
ning of the campaign game?
---Then the Axis doesn’t need any help.

e 48.2: The same question as in 48.1, is this rule applied from the
July IT 1941 turn? ----YES

REINFORCEMENTS

* NZs from Crete: Can wounded NZ steps that enter Jun I be used
from that turn or from the next Jun II turn?
-—--Jun |

OTHERS

* Babini HQ: Babini HQ is not used in any scenario after “Enter
Rommel”. When is it disbanded?
---You can use it any time you want, even in 1941 and ‘42 sce-
narios. I think it was historically disbanded in late 1940.



B. Rule Changes

The following rule changes were designed by Ken Mitsube and
myself. The new LOC rule (8.3), the extra German tank re-
placement (see charts and Tables at the bottom) and the new
Attack Supply rule (20.3) greatly improve the game.

8.3 LINE OF COMMUNICATION

* The length of a LOC was found to be too generous (especially
for rule 19.4). Add the following restriction to a LOC: A LOC
can be no more than 9 MP’s to a road or track and thence along
the road or track an unlimited distance to a Friendly Map Edge.
Alternatively, the LOC can also be traced (9 MP’s + unlimited
road/track) to another friendly supply point if that supply point
can trace a LOC to a Friendly Map Edge or to a supply point
which can trace a LOC to a Friendly Map Edge. A LOC can
be extended by supply points an unlimited number of times as
long as the last supply point in the chain can trace a LOC to a
Friendly Map Edge.

14. MOBILE ASSAULTS

* Mobile Assaults do consume attack supply if the total number
of step loses (attacker + defender) is 2 or more. See 20.3 be-
low.

16.0 SPECIAL UNIT TYPES
* Recon units out of supply lose their ability to avoid combat.

16.2 Artillery Units and 40.6 Ground Support

e Artillery Factors and/or Ground Support Factors as a whole
may not exceed the printed ground strength
---excess AF and/or GSF are ignored.

16.3 Army HQ disband

e Each player may disband his Army HQ voluntarily in any
friendly segment at the beginning of Movement Phase. Dis-
banded HQs are immediately replaced in any friendly Off Map
Box, but can not be moved in that segment.

18.0 FIELD WORKS

18.3 Fortifications

e REMOVAL: In addition, any vacant fortification more than 4
hexes from a friendly unit (in any supply status) is automati-
cally removed during the replacement/reinforcement segment.
This is not applied to permanent fortifications.

* Each player may not have more than SIX fortifications placed
on the map at the same time. Permanent fortifications are not
counted for this limitation (but fortifications built within the
Tobruk perimeter are counted, though). There is no restriction
in the total number of fortifications that may be built during the
whole course of the game. This rule in not applied to improved
positions.

e Artillery should never be doubled or tripled in a fortification or
improved position.

19.0 GENERAL SUPPLY

¢ 19.4 Note that the new LOC rule (8.3 above) makes it easier
for supply units to become isolated and hence consumed when
supplying isolated units.

20.0 SUPPLY POINTS

e 20.3 Attack Supply: One Supply Point may no longer provide
Attack Supply for an unlimited number of attacks. If an attack
results in two or more step losses (count attacker and defender
losses), then the supply unit is removed before it can provide
attack supply to any other attacks. This applies to Mobile As-
saults also.

23.0 SEA MOVEMENT

» 23.3 Shipping Limits: The Axis Player may move eight (8)
Shipping Points out of Italy Box to any friendly African port.
This is in addition to the two (2) Coastal Shipping capacity be-
tween African ports.

28.0 CADRES & REPLACEMENTS

28.7 SPECIAL CASES:

HEADQUARTERS: Divisional HQs require the expenditure of
one infantry-type Replacement unit plus one Resource Point.

29.0 RECOVERED STEPS

* 29.5 Tank Repair: Axis player may repair 2 tank units per turn
regardless of nationality (either 2 German, 2 Italian or one of
each).

41.0 REACTION
Delete this section.

REINFORCEMENT SCHEDULE

* The first Minor Allies replacement unit starts the game in the
Allies replacement pool.

* The second Minor Allies replacement unit enters: FEB I, 1942
TURN.

e The 28th Maori Battalion starts on board at Alexandria.

* The 6th/Australian Division HQ enter the game in the Dec 11
1940 turn (with the last brigade).

* The Australian 24/9 Brigade enters on Feb II 1941, not Mar 11
1941.

CHARTS AND TABLES

* AXIS Replacement Table: Axis Player can get Tank Replace-
ment Units as follows.
1941: 9 through 11; one Tank Repl / 12; two Tank Repl
1942: 8 through 11; one Tank Repl / 12; two Tank Repl



