
Day of the Chariot 
Addenda as of Mar. 12, 2008 
 
The Rules: 
 
4.4 Zones of Control. Ignore the reference to town hexes (there 

are none). 
 
7.3 Egyptian Commands. The command radius on the Egyptian 

Marine leader counter is correct. This leader command units out 
to 5 hexes, not 2, as stated in the rule. 
 
7.4 Hittite Commands. The command radius on the Nikmaddu 

II leader counter is correct. This leader command units out to 5 
hexes, not 3, as stated in the rule. 
 
8.11 Plundering. Players roll two D6 (not a D10) when deter-

mining the range of hexes for plundering. 
 
9.3.6 Melee Combat Phase: Any fraction is rounded up or down 

to the nearest whole number (not always in favor of the defender 
as implied in the fifth section of the rule). 
 
13.0 Scenarios: The Hittite Player goes first in all scenarios. 

  
13.1.2 Hittite Set Up: The two Kadesh Chariots and their Chariot 

Runners (four units total) set up in the Old Kadesh Alert Box. 
The two light infantry, archer and Nikkmadu leader units set up 
on the map in the Kadesh hex (not the move to map box). 

13.1.4 Orontes River Fords. The rule should read “four” fords. 

All of the four fords are affected by this rule. 
 
Optional Rule for 13.3: Each player rolls a die after setting up 

first (re-roll any tie). The player with the higher DR determines 
who goes first in the game. 
 
The Counters: 

The Hittite "Taimi" leader counter carries an incorrect abbre-
viation which should be "Talmi". 
 
The Egyptian "Amur" leader counter is misspelled. He should 
have been “Amun” and commands the "Amun" division. 
 
The Hittite "Huttus" leader name should have been shortened 
just to "Hattu". This counter also has incorrect command colors 
within his cartouche. Instead of orange and green, it should 
display the blue background color, reflecting his influence over 
all Hittite, Anatolian and Syrian forces. The "Hattu" counter is 
shown correctly colored on the Hittite Player's Aid Card. 
 
The Hittite "Muwat" (full name "Muwatalli") leader counter also 
has incorrect command colors within his cartouche. Instead of 
solid orange, it should display both orange and green, reflecting 
his influence over both the Hittite Left and Right Wings (see 
Section 7.4 for the Hittite command rules when you get the 
issue). The "Muwat" counter shown on the Hittite Player's Aid 
Card is correctly colored. 
 
Addenda counters for all four units above were printed ATO #22. 
 



Desert Duel 
Addenda as of Dec. 17, 2013 
 
 
The Rules: 

 
3.1 Setup (correction): The reference to Sandstorms should be 

to Case 10.61 (not 10.7). 
 
5.1.1 Allied Movement Limitations (clarification): This limitation 

is for Allied movement only. The second line of the example 
should have as its first word “Alternatively….” Allied armor and 
leg units may NOT move together in the same impulse (one or 
the other). 
 
The Allied leader has no movement limitations. He can move in 
either/both impulses. 
 
6.1 Combat Resolution (corrections): References in the seven-

th line should be to Cases 6.1.2 and 6.1.3 (not 6.2.2 and 6.2.3).  
 
Disregard the line about both players rolling a die to resolve 
combat. Only the attacking player rolls a die. 
 
6.1.1 (clarifications): Allied multi-hex attacks are allowed as long 

as both units are adjacent to the enemy hex at the start of the 
impulse, or the units move adjacent and then attack in the same 
impulse. Only Allied Armor and Infantry in the SAME hex have to 
pass a coordination DR check to attack in the same Attack 
Action. This is a way for the Allied player to get around the DR 
check imposed by Case 6.1.1, but it can leave Allied units 
vulnerable to a concerted Axis counter-attack (especially if the 
Allied unit is unstacked). Remember that Italian units cannot 
attack and move in the same Impulse. For them it is one or the 
other. 
 
6.3 Defensive Boxes (correction): Rule reference for damage 

point allocation should be 6.2 
 
7.4.3 Captured Supply (correction): Reference should be to 

Section 6.3 (not 6.4). 

8.0 Reinforcements (clarification): A reinforcement unit is in-

deed placed on the Attack Action (not Movement) during the 
Impulse shown on the reverse side of the counter. The unit will 
be able to move in the next Impulse. 
 
10.1.2 Leaders and Combat (correction): A leader’s Command 

Rating DRM is subtracted (not added) from the DR when 
defending in combat. 
 
10.5.2 (clarification): The Allied player has the option to place 

his Air Support marker first (thereby precluding the Axis player 
from using theirs this combat). If the Allied player declines (or 
they already used it this impulse) then the Axis player may use 
their Air Support marker (if available) to support the combat. 
 
10.6 Weather (correction): The second sentence of the second 
paragraph should read “On a roll of “6” the following impulses 

(not impulse) will have sandstorms. 
 
10.61 (clarification): Sandstorms only last for the turn (but 

throughout it) in which the event was rolled. 
 
The Charts: 

 
Terrain Effects Chart (clarification): Reading from top to bottom 

the terrain depicted on the TEC is Deir, Ridge, Defensive Box, El 
Alamein hex, Mine, Road, Reinforcement Deployment Zone. 
 
Minefields (correction): As per the rule minefields cause a 1 

column shift to the left (not halving the attacker’s CF). 
 
The Counters: 

Disregard the rules references on the backs of the Minefield and 
Barrage markers. The numbering of the rule cases was changed 
after the counters were printed. 
 
The “+1M” notation on the Leader counters should be read sepa-
rately as “+1” for their Command Rating and “M” for the 1 hex 
movement bonus they confer. 

 
 


