


8 CARDS
PER PLAYER

Card Anatomy

The icon of Glyph Coin and 
Glyph Dice this Piece can use

Passive Spell

Active Spell

Master Spell

Glyph Coin

Glyph dice

12 GLYPH COINS   
PER PLAYER

There are 6 different types of Glyph Coins and 
each type corresponds to a Glyph Piece. Players can 

cast powerful spells with these magical coins. 

1 COIN BAG  
PER PLAYER

To hold the cards and to hide your coins from other players.

2 CARD SHELVES
PER PLAYER

Each side of the dice corresponds to a Glyph Piece.

5 GLYPH DICE 

1 DICE TOWER

1v1v1

Player A

Player C Player B

1v1

Player A

Player B

Elementalist Force Mage Illusionist Necromancer Seeress Summoner

1 CHESSBOARD

What's in the Box

G lyph Chess is a chessboard style game for 2 to 3 
players, adapted from a Chinese comic book, Tales 
of Tarsylia. It is said that Glyph Chess is the most 

popular game in the magical world and can only be played by 
the most powerful wizards. To win, players must maneuver their 
pieces to get their Scepter Piece to the center of the board, or 
eliminate all enemy players’ Scepters.
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SET UP

2-PLAYER SET UP

3-PLAYER SET UP

ADVANCED 
SET UP RULE

11 PIECES
PER PLAYER

1 Scepter 
per player

1 Necromancer
per player

1 Elementalist
per player

1 Seeress
per player

1 Force Mage
per player

1 Summoner
per player

2 Illusionists
per player

3 Minions
per player

1 Scepter Piece
7 Glyph Pieces (6 different types)

3 Minion Pieces

Player A

Scepter

Scepter

Used Coin Area
player A

Used Coin Area
player B

Dice 
Tower

Coin Bag
player A

Spare Piece Area
(Summon/Revive)

player A

Spare Piece Area
(Summon/Revive)

player B

Coin Bag
player B

Card Shelves

Card Shelves

Player B

Diagram Set-up
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A.	 Place the chessboard in the center of the table and put      
the Dice Tower aside.

B.	 Give both players their player sets, including:                       
11 Pieces, 2 Card Shelves, 8 Cards, 1 Coin Bag and    
12 Glyph Coins. 

C.	 The starting player uses the gold pieces.

D.	 Players put all Glyph Coins in their Coin Bags.

E.	 Players put their Scepter Piece in the center spot on their 
edge of the board.

F.	 All players shuffle their Glyph Cards (6), and place them 
face down in a row, in line with each spot on their edge of 
the board. Players then turn over their cards and place their 
Glyph Pieces next to the Scepter Piece, in the same 
order as the cards (see Diagram Set-up). 

G.	 Place remaining pieces in the Spare Piece Area.

H.	 Place all Glyph Cards on the Card Shelves. Put the 
Scepter and the Minion cards aside for easy-viewing.

I.	 The starting player rolls all 5 Glyph Dice.

J.	 The other player draws 1 random Glyph Coin and puts it behind 
the Card Shelves. Coins should be hidden from other players.

When setting up a game for 3 players, the starting player who uses the gold pieces rolls all                 
5 Glyph Dice; the next player who uses the silver pieces draws 1 coin; the third player who uses    
the bronze pieces draws 2 coins.

Gold, silver and then bronze players each take actions on their turns.

If players agree, set up with the 
following advanced rule :

All players place their 
Scepter Card and Glyph 
Cards face down in a row 
in the starting positions they 
want to place them. Players 
then turn over their cards 
at the same time and place 
their pieces on their edge of 
the board in the same order 
as the cards. In this case, the 
Scepter Piece does not have 
to be in the center. 
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GAME PIECES

SCEPTER

Each player owns 1 Scepter Piece: 

Scepter can only use Glyph Dice and can use any
 Glyph Dice to move. Scepter can only move 1 spot each turn.

The Key to Victory

 PASSIVE SPELL

In each turn, you must do either A or B: 

GAME PLAY

Awakening
STEP

Action
STEP

Reset
STEP

AWAKENING STEP

ACTION STEP

RESET STEP

Beginning with the starting player, 
each player completes 3 steps on their turn: 

•• Check the Glyph Dice: 
      if any dice match your killed/incinerated pieces, you can re-roll     	
      them once.

You can either re-roll all of the killed/incinerated dice once, or                   
choose to skip, but you can NOT pick some of them to re-roll.

•• If you have less than 5 Glyph Coins, draw one random 
Glyph Coin from the Coin Bag, otherwise skip this step.
Whenever the bag is empty, put all coins in your Used Coin Area

back in the bag.

•• Move any Glyph Coins you used to your own Used Coin Area. 
•• Re-roll any Glyph Dice you used this turn.

A.	 MOVE A PIECE: Consume X Glyph Coins and/or Glyph 
Dice of the same type to move the corresponding piece X spots 
towards one direction (X is greater than 0).

•• No piece is allowed to land on a spot occupied by a friendly 
piece(the same player’s game pieces).

•• Unless described in spells, no piece is allowed to change 
their movement direction or pass through a spot occupied 
by any other piece.

B.	 CAST A SPELL: You can spend the required Glyph Dice 
and/or Glyph Coins to cast one Active or Master Spell 
from one of your pieces on the board. 

•• Note: the Elementalist can incinerate enemy pieces rather 
than killing them. When a piece is incinerated, flip the card and 
permanently remove the piece from the game. Incinerated pieces 
can NOT be revived by the Necromancer.

•• Note: the Necromancer can NOT revive the Illusionist. 
When the Illusionist is killed or incinerated, flip the card and 

permanently remove the piece from the game.

Wild Coin: For a killed/incinerated piece, flip its Glyph 
Coin to the blank side to indicate that it becomes a Wild 
Coin, which can be used by any pieces.

Kill: When landing a piece on a spot occupied by an enemy 
piece, the enemy piece is killed and removed from the board 
to the Spare Piece Area. Flip its card over to the blank side 
on the Card Shelf to indicate it is killed. A killed piece can 
only be revived by the Necromancer.

VICTORY

or

A player wins the game when either condition is achieved:

At the beginning of a player’s turn, their Scepter 
Piece is in the center spot of the board. 

If a player’s Scepter Piece is killed or incinerated, 
they are eliminated from the game. Remove all

 eliminated player's pieces from the board. 

When there is only one player remaining
 on the board, that player wins. 
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ILLUSIONIST

Note: The friendly piece that Illusionist can swap positions with includes 
Scepter, Minions, the other Illusionist and all their Glyph Pieces.

E.g. Consume 1  , swap Illusionist’s position with the friendly 
Necromancer.

 Consume 1  , swap positions with any friendly piece. 

 Consume 1  , create a Replica in an adjacent empty spot. 

The unreal phantom

Note: Illusionist cannot be revived. When both Illusionist and the 
Replica are killed or incinerated, permanently remove both Illusionist 
pieces from the game.

E.g. consume 1  , create a Replica.
Replica

 ACTIVE SPELL

 MASTER SPELL

SEERESS

 PASSIVE SPELL

Note: Extending in all 6 directions from the Seeress’ current spot, the 1st 
piece in each direction is considered “in sight”.

E.g. the enemy Necromancer, Illusionist and Elementalist cannot use 
Glyph Coins; the enemy Force Mage and Summoner are not affected.

Each player owns the following Glyph Pieces.
 Each Piece has 1 Active or Passive Spell and 1 Master Spell: 

 Any enemy pieces in sight cannot use Glyph Coins. 

 Consume 1  , view a player’s current Glyph Coins. 
Pick up to 2 coins and move them to Used Coin Area.

The one who knows everything

 MASTER SPELL
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FORCE MAGE

E.g. consume 2  and 1  , move 3 spots to pass through the enemy 
Illusionist and the friendly Elementalist, and kill the enemy Summoner.

E.g. consume 1  and 2  , move 2 spots passing through the enemy 
Minion and kill the enemy Illusionist, Elmentalist, Necromancer and 
Minion.

 Force Mage can pass through any pieces. 

 Consume 1  and X  , move X spots to an empty spot 
and kill all adjacent enemy pieces.

The power of mass destruction

 MASTER SPELL

 PASSIVE SPELL

ELEMENTALIST

  PASSIVE SPELL

 MASTER SPELL

Note: Incinerated pieces cannot be revived, and will be permanently removed 
from the game.

E.g. consume 1  and 4  , move 4 times in different directions and 
incinerate the enemy Summoner, Necromancer and Illusionist.

Elementalist can incinerate enemy pieces rather than killing them. 

Consume 1  and X  , move X times, each time move 1 spot. 
The direction of movement can be changed, but the

 Elementalist cannot pass the same spot twice.

The hidden threat
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NECROMANCER

E.g. consume 1  , instead of being incinerated by the enemy 
Elementalist, instantly move to its starting spot of this movement.

 When the Necromancer’s spot is taken by an enemy piece, 
consume 1  to move the Necromancer to the enemy piece’s

 starting spot of this movement. 

 Consume 1  , revive a killed friendly Glyph Piece
 (except for the Illusionist), in an adjacent empty spot.

The master of life and death

E.g. consume 1  , revive the Force Mage who was killed by the enemy 
Illusionist.

 PASSIVE SPELL

 MASTER SPELL

SUMMONER

MINION

Note: Minions can only be moved by casting this spell.

E.g. consume 1  and 2  , 3 Minions move 1 spot in the same 
direction. You can decide the order of Minions’ movement.

  Consume 1  , summon up to 3 Minions 
in empty spots next to the Summoner.

Consume X  and/or  , move X Minions 1 spot in the same 
direction one at a time, in the order you choose. 

The unmatched  strategist

The infinite army troops
Each player owns 3 Minion Pieces: 

When the Summoner leaves his current spot, all
Minions are removed from the board.

 ACTIVE SPELL

  MASTER SPELL

 PASSIVE SPELL
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Q1:  At the Action Step of my turn, can I choose no actions?
A1:  No, you must take one action, either moving a piece or    	
        casting a spell.

Q2:  Many cards mentioned the value X. What is X’s range?
A2:  X must be greater than 0, so it is not possible to cast a spell     	
        with X=0.

Q3:  Some pieces require me to use Glyph Coin and/or   	
         Glyph Dice. Can I mix them?
A3:  Yes, you can choose to use just coins, just dice or mix coins  	
        and dice at the same time.

Q4:  Some spells require me to use Glyph Dice. Can I use    	
         corresponding Glyph Coins instead?
A4:  No, if a spell requires dice, you can only use the 
        corresponding Glyph Dice to cast the spell.

Q5:  When trying to move all 3 Minions, but one of them          	
          is blocked from movement by a friendly piece or the edge   	
          of board, how can I move the Minions?
A5:  In this case, you can only spend 2 coins and/or dice, to  	
        move the 2 Minions that are not blocked from movement.

Q6:  What happens after a Killed Piece is revived by the 
          Necromancer?
A6:  After a Piece is revived, flip its Card and Glyph Coins     	
        back to the front side to indicate that it is revived and back 	
        in play.

Q7:  After creating a Replica of the Illusionist, which one is 	
          the real Illusionist?
A7:  Both of them are the real Illusionist. You can use either 	

        one to cast Illusionist’s spells and the Illusionist               	
         won’t be killed or incinerated unless both of them are      	
         removed  from the board. If both are removed, Illusionist       	
         and Replica are permanently gone and cannot be revived.

Q8:    Can the Necromancer revive the Minions?
A8:    No, Minions can only be recalled by their Summoner’s 
          Master Spell.

Q9:    When my Necromancer is killed by enemy 
            Force Mage’s Master Spell, can I trigger the 
            Necromancer’s Passive Spell to survive?
A9:    No, since the Force Mage’s Master Spell does NOT  	             	
          occupy Necromancer’s spot, the Necromancer’s 
          Passive Spell won’t be triggered.

Q10:  When my Necromancer is incinerated by enemy 
            Elementalist’s Master Spell and the
            Necromancer’s Passive Spell is triggered, where   	                 	
            should he go?
A10:  Elementalist’s Master Spell is comprised of multiple   	
          movements, with each one moving 1 spot on the board.       	
          In this case, the Necromancer should be moved to the     	
          starting spot of one single movement, which is 1 spot away.

Q11:  When my Necromancer is killed by an enemy Seeress,  	 	
          can I trigger the Necromancer’s Passive Spell to survive?
A11:  No, since the Necromancer is in Seeress’ sight, he 
          cannot use any Glyph Coin due to the Seeress’ Passive 	             	
          Spell.

Q12:  If I use the Summoner’s Master Spell when my 	      	
            Minions  already existing on the board, can I reset the    	
            existing ones?
A12:  No, any existing Minions will NOT be affected by  	
          the Summoner’s Master Spell. You can only summon   	
          unused Minions from your Spare Piece Area.

Q13:  When Minions or the Illusionist’s Replica is 
            incinerated by the Elementalist, are they permanently    	
            removed from the game as well?
A13:  No, you can call them back to the game by using 
          Summoner or Illusionist’s Master Spell.

Q14:  Can I move a piece multiple spots and kill all enemy  	
            pieces along the path?
A14:  No, a regular movement can only kill the enemy on the  	
          last spot you are landing on. 
          Only the Elementalist’s Master Spell can incinerate 	
           multiple enemies along the path.

Q15: When the Summoner is surrounded by his Minions, 
           can I move the Summoner onto the spot occupied by 
           a Minion?
A15:  Yes, you can. At the moment when the Summoner 
          leaves his current spot, Minions are instantly removed,   	
          and the spot previously occupied by a Minion becomes        	
          an empty spot that Summoner can land on.

Q16:  When my Necromancer is attacked by a group of 
            Minions, how to trigger the Passive Spell?
A16:  Since the Minions move one by one, the 
          Necromancer’s Passive Spell can be triggered every   	
          time when he is attacked.

frequently asked questions

The 1st Minion moves and one Necromancer Coin is used 
to trigger the Passive Spell.

The 2nd Minion moves and another Necromancer Coin is used 
to trigger the Passive Spell.

The last Minion moves and there is no more Necromancer 
Coin, the Necromancer is killed.
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